Monday, February 15, 2010

Album review: Hayley Westenra’s Self-Titled Album (2001)

Hayley Westenra self-titled albumHayley Westenra self-titled first studio album features rendition of classic songs like ‘Memory’, ‘Somewhere’, ‘Pie Jesu’ and ‘I Dreamed a Dream’.

The album opens with ‘Walking In The Air’ from the 1982 animated film The Snowman. Hayley’s angelic voice creates the sensation of floating in the air high above the clouds. Her take on this song is magical. Bach’s Ave Maria follows, serene for a moment of meditation and prayer.

The eight track features ‘Bright Eyes’ another animated film theme song, this time from 1978 Watership Down. Like ‘Walking In The Air’, the track is full of dramatisation and emotion that creates highly enjoyable listening experience.

The album concludes with two added bonus tracks New Zealand’s National Anthem and a live version of 'Amazing Grace'. This album has acceptable to good dynamic range.

Hayley Westenra
by Hayley Westenra
4 out of 5 star
Released:April 26, 2001
Label:Universal New Zealand

Track listing
01."Walking In The Air" 3:15
02."Ave Maria (Bach)" 2:27
04."All I Ask Of You"3:18
06."The Mists Of Islay"2:28
07."Ave Maria (Schubert)"3:21
08."Bright Eyes" 4:05
09."Pie Jesu" 2:41
10."Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again"3:08
11."I Dreamed A Dream" 3:44
12."Love Changes Everything" 3:31
13."God Defend New Zealand" 3:31
14."Amazing Grace (Live)" 4:18

No comments:

Post a Comment